top of page

Thirds relegated to Section B

Ballinamallard United III will play in Section B of the NIFL Youth League next season after results didn't go their way on Saturday and returned them to the bottom of the Section A table on goal difference.

A magnificent rearguard action over the previous 4 games where they had picked up 10 points was not enough after they lost their final game at champions Linfield Rangers, whilst Glenavon III produced a shock win over 3rd place Crusaders Colts to climb off the bottom.

Whitey Anderson told those gathered at the recent player awards that he wasn't concerned whether the Thirds play in Section A or Section B next season. What matters to him is that Derek Sharpe continues to do what he has done successfully this season and develop young players who will come through to the Seconds and ultimately into the senior squad.

With teenagers like James Edgar, Michael Dooris, Ollie Russell, Kyle Coalter & Jordan Coalter breaking through this season to the Seconds and Under 21 Player of the Year Ciaran Smith making appearances for the first team, the success of Derek's squad is not simply measured on where they finished in Section A of the Youth League.

Best wishes to Derek, his backroom team and squad for the summer break and we look forward to seeing them return to action in Section B where no doubt they will seek to repeat the title winning success of John Quinn's squad in 2008/09

Recent Posts
bottom of page